Later Stuart Portraits 1685–1714 Hardcover – National Portrait Gallery
Shopping Basket

Later Stuart Portraits 1685–1714 Hardcover

Regular price £75.00

This important reference work is the latest volume in the series of scholarly catalogues of the National Portrait Gallery’s collections. It catalogues the portraits in the primary collection of sitters whose main period of achievement was between 1685 and 1714, and includes much new research by art historian John Ingamells.

Spend over £60.00 for free UK shipping

Hardcover: 432 pages

Product Dimensions: 25.4 x 3.8 x 27.9 cm

Information on shipping rates, returns and damages can be found here

The Later Stuarts spans one of the most eventful periods in British history, from the accession of James II in 1685 to the death of Queen Anne in 1714, the final years of the house of Stuart on the English and Scottish thrones. It is a period in which Britain was newly established as a major European power, and the catalogue encompasses outstanding military, naval, ecclesiastical and intellectual figures, including the Duke of Marlborough, Admirals Benbow and Shovell, Archbishop Sancroft (who led the Seven Bishops against James II), John Locke, Isaac Newton, John Vanbrugh and Christopher Wren.  Also featured are the fearsome Judge Jeffreys, the composer Henry Purcell and diarists Samuel Pepys and John Evelyn. The writers include John Dryden, Matthew Prior, Joseph Addison and Richard Steele and the painters Godfrey Kneller and Michael Dahl (whose self-portrait is handsomely presented on the cover).